Administrative Department of the President of Republic


The first Colombian which ruled the vast territory´s fate was Mr. José Miguel Pey, when he was named president of the extraordinary Town Council on July 20, 1810 after refusal by Viceroy Antonio Amar y Borbón to be. The council met to draft the Declaration of Independence Act and to set up a new government.

Once constituted the Supreme Government, on October 26, 1810 an Interim Board met to shape the new government by dividing powers so that they were more in line with principles that favored a healthy policy.

It was then created the Executive Body in which was located the High Government formed by a Vice President`s office with two secretaries of the Universal Government Office, the first Grace, Justice and State, the second war and Finance and, five sections of state: Ecclesiastical, War, Finance, Grace and, Justice with their respective secretaries.

Executive Body aimed mainly to activate the provinces to verify as soon as possible the meeting of General Conference while giving due course to the pending matters on the organization of the provinces as agreed in the General Meeting. The objective of the sections was to form plans and regulations in their respective fields to be passed in Legislative Council giving the reports they were asked. Clerks of the universal office, finally aimed to communicate resolutions issued by the Executive body to the respective sections where would broadcast it through their secretaries to inform the heads of Provinces and others interested bodies.

This first government Organization corresponds to the period known as “Boba Homeland” that lasted until 1819 when General Simon Bolivar is named President of the New Kingdom of Granada.

The Presidency of the Republic, during the time of the Liberator, was made by the President`s Private Secretary and a Clerk. 
Law 3 of 1898, abolish Private Secretary and the clerk; make the Secretary General of the Presidency of the Republic formed by a General Secretary, a Senior Officer and two clerks. This law is sanctioned by Mr. Jorge Manuel Marroquín who as Vice President takes over the government due to the Mr. President Manuel Antonio Sanclement illness.

In 1956 was considered essential to make the offices of the presidency of the Republic a better organization that would allow greater efficiency in the performance of its functions and the complete study of the projects submitted to the decision of the President.

Thus, the General Secretary of the Presidency through Decree # 0133 of January 27, 1956 signed by General Gustavo Rojas Pinilla, supreme leader, becomes the Administrative Department of the Presidency of the Republic, body which is responsible for coordinating, monitoring and managing various offices of the Presidency.

In 1976, by Decree 146 of January 27 signed by Mr. President Alfonso López Michelsen, it is recognized the Administrative Department which set up by the Secretary General, the Presidential Counselors, the Secretariat of Information and Press, Private Secretariat and, Military House, all depending to the President of the Republic´s office.

In 1990 the National Government dictated the law 55 which states the purpose, functions and organization principles of the Administrative Department of the Presidency of thee Republic.

In accordance with the provisions of the above Law, the Administrative Department of the Presidency of the Republic will have a special nature and therefore a structure and nomenclature of its dependencies and jobs in accordance with it, also have special regimes for budgetary, fiscal, administrative, contractual, salary and social benefits, to meet the purpose and functions assigned to it.

In 1991 by Decree Law No 1680 it is repealing Decree Law 146 of 1976 and given to the Administrative Department of the Presidency of the Republic the abbreviated name of Presidency of the Republic.

In December 1992, the Administrative department again has changes in its structure merging the Special Fund for the Presidency of the Republic with the Solidarity Fund and Social Emergency to continue functioning as a national public establishment endowed with legal capacity, own administrative autonomy and, patrimony ascribed to the Presidency of the Republic.

In 1994, Counseling for Bogotá and its Capital District is created, and, the functions of Counseling for Youth, Women and Family are moved to the Presidential Counseling for Social Politics.